All news

Announcement of the winners the NAPA AUTOPRO 2018 scholarships

12 October 2018

Twelve mechanics students each received a bursary of $1,000
to support them in their training and professional development

The names of the 12 winners of the NAPA AUTOPRO 2018 scholarships were announced during the last NAPA AUTOPRO congress, which was held in Ottawa on September 28 and 29.

The candidates were tasked with creating a video explaining their interest in training to become mechanics. This video was then reviewed by a panel of industry experts who chose the winners. The winning students were invited to attend the congress so they could familiarize themselves with the ins and outs of the industry and make contacts.

The 12 winners are:

  • Steven Canuel, CFPG Manicouagan
  • Jean-Maxime Robberts, CFP Wilbrod Bhérer
  • Marie-Pier Landry, CF Rimouski-Neigette
  • Patrick Bouchard, CFP Wilbrod Bhérer
  • Yannick Brien-Rouillard, CF Compétences de la Rive Sud
  • Jensen Smith-Baron, CFP Daniel-Johnson
  • Maxime Castonguay, CFP Saint-Jérôme
  • Sarah Lane, West-Island Career Centre
  • Matthias Balk-Forcione, West-Island Career Centre
  • Mélissa Lalonde, West-Island Career Centre
  • Mervin Toussaint, West-Island Career Centre
  • Assef Sleiman, CFP Sainte-Thérèse
Seven of the twelve 2018 winners attended the AUTOPRO Convention in Ottawa to receive their scholarship.


“It is always a pleasure to offer bursaries to such motivated students who are passionate about the field of mechanics,” explained Alain Primeau, Regional Vice-President, NAPA Pièces d’auto Quebec. “I have absolutely no doubt that these young men and women will embark on wonderful careers and breathe new life into our industry.”

André Couture, NAPA AUTOPRO Regional Director for Quebec, reminded attendees of how important it is to give students a seat at the table during industry events. “By inviting them to the congress, we give them the opportunity to join our network, make contact with workshop owners and participate in the conference and various activities. At the end of the day, everyone benefits. Workshop owners also appreciate the opportunity to meet with the next generation of technicians.”

The aim of the NAPA AUTOPRO 2018 scholarships program is to encourage young people to study mechanics so that we can grow the pool of qualified technicians and meet the hiring needs of auto repair workshops. The program was expanded province-wide this year and almost 40 students from each of the 36 vocational training centres in the province applied for a scholarship.

As was the case last year, the selection committee was made up of Serge Pelletier, former Director of the NAPA AUTOPRO banner, Pierre Beaudoin, CAA-Québec’s former Technical Director, and Roger Goudreau, former CEO at AIA Québec.

For further information, contact:

Éric Dufresne
Manager, Marketing and Corporate Communications
Tel: 514 251 6540, ext. 7205
Cell: 514 805-1435